May 26, 2026
Created by Ryan Hale

Jack3d Pre Workout and DMAA: 7 Facts About the Banned Original Formula

SUPPLEMENTS · PRE-WORKOUT HISTORY

Jack3d Pre Workout and DMAA: 7 Facts About the Banned Original Formula

Jack3d pre workout was one of the best-selling pre-workouts in the world around 2010, and the reason was one ingredient: 1,3-dimethylamylamine (DMAA), an amphetamine-like stimulant listed on the label as "geranium extract". It was linked to cardiac arrests and strokes, banned by the US military and then by the FDA, and its manufacturer pleaded guilty to federal charges. This article explains what was in the original Jack3d, what DMAA does to the body according to the published pharmacology, what the case reports and the regulators found, and why "original formula" tubs sold today are a risk rather than a bargain.

Independent editorial analysis. MuscleScience has no commercial relationship with any supplement manufacturer and does not sell products.

R
Ryan Hale
Research Notes Editor · Updated September 2026
THE DATA IN BRIEF

Jack3d Pre Workout: 3 Things to Know Before Reading Further

Jack3d pre workout is a history lesson about what happens when a stimulant with drug-level effects is sold as a botanical. The short version below is the part that still matters for anyone shopping for a pre-workout today.

DMAA was the product

The original Jack3d was a proprietary blend of about 4.2 g containing creatine, beta-alanine, arginine AKG, caffeine and DMAA, with no doses disclosed. Everything users felt came from the DMAA plus caffeine; the other ingredients were present at fractions of their research doses. For a modern comparison that prints its dose on the pack, see how much caffeine a can of Monster holds.

It was never geranium

Lisi and colleagues tested geranium oils and found no methylhexaneamine (DMAA). The compound in Jack3d was synthetic, which is why the FDA ruled it was not a legal dietary ingredient.

Banned, prosecuted, still circulating

Military exchanges pulled DMAA products after two soldier deaths, the FDA issued warning letters in 2012 and declared DMAA illegal in 2013, and USPlabs executives pleaded guilty to federal charges in 2019. Tubs labeled "original formula" still appear on gray-market sites.

ARTICLE SCOPE

What This Jack3d Pre Workout Article Covers

This is not a review of a product you can legally buy. It is an evidence file on the original formula, written for readers who see Jack3d recommended in old forum threads or offered on resale sites and want to know what the science and the regulators concluded.

Covered

The original Jack3d formula and why the proprietary blend hid the only ingredient that mattered.

DMAA pharmacology: the one controlled pharmacokinetic study, the industry-funded safety trials and the case reports of cardiac arrest and stroke.

The regulatory timeline from military ban to criminal conviction.

What "Jack3d" means today and how to check any pre-workout for DMAA under its many aliases.

Not covered

Reviews of current pre-workouts. See our label-checked breakdowns of C4 and Mother Bucker.

Legal advice on possession or import of DMAA products, which varies by country.

Anti-doping case law. DMAA (methylhexaneamine) has been on the WADA prohibited list since 2010; tested athletes should treat any DMAA alias as a career risk.

THE FORMULA

What Was in Jack3d Pre Workout: The Original Label vs What the Research Needs

The original Supplement Facts panel listed a single proprietary blend of about 4.2 g. Because no individual doses were disclosed, the research column below uses the evidence-based dose for each ingredient, and the status reflects what a 4.2 g blend shared by five ingredients could physically hold.

● Green = could reach the research dose   ● Amber = present but mathematically under-dosed   ● Red = illegal or unsafe ingredient   ● Grey = dose undisclosed
Ingredient (original blend, about 4.2 g total)Disclosed doseResearch doseStatus
1,3-dimethylamylamine (DMAA), labeled "geranium extract"Not disclosed; the controlled pharmacokinetic study used 25 mg as a typical servingNone; not an approved dietary ingredient. WADA-prohibited since 2010● Banned stimulant
CaffeineNot disclosed3 to 6 mg per kg (225 to 450 mg at 75 kg)● Undisclosed
Creatine monohydrateNot disclosed; shares 4.2 g with four other ingredients3 to 5 g per day● Cannot reach dose
Beta-alanineNot disclosed3.2 to 6.4 g per day● Cannot reach dose
Arginine alpha-ketoglutarateNot disclosedNo consistent ergogenic dose; replaced by citrulline in modern formulas● Weak ingredient

The arithmetic that the blend hid: creatine and beta-alanine together need more than 6 g to reach their research doses. The entire blend was about 4.2 g including everything else. The performance ingredients were label decoration; the DMAA and caffeine were the product. For how to spot this pattern on any tub, see how to read supplement labels.

HOW IT WORKS

What DMAA Does: The Pharmacology Behind Jack3d Pre Workout

DMAA is a simple aliphatic amine, structurally close to amphetamine and to the decongestant propylhexedrine. It was patented as a nasal decongestant in the 1940s, withdrawn, and reappeared in supplements around 2006 relabeled as a plant extract. Five points from the published literature explain both the effect and the danger of Jack3d pre workout.

1

A sympathomimetic: vasoconstriction and higher blood pressure without a faster pulse

DMAA is a sympathomimetic amine that constricts blood vessels. Bloomer and colleagues, in an industry-funded acute crossover study of ten adults, found that 50 to 75 mg of DMAA raised blood pressure in a dose-dependent way, peaking at about 20 percent higher systolic and 17 percent higher diastolic pressure when 75 mg was combined with 250 mg of caffeine, with no rise in heart rate and no rise in circulating adrenaline or noradrenaline. That combination, higher pressure without a faster pulse, is the vasoconstriction signature, and it is the mechanism proposed for the hemorrhagic strokes in the case reports.

2

A long half-life: about 8.4 hours, peak at 3 to 5 hours

Schilling and colleagues published the only human pharmacokinetic study: seven men given a single 25 mg oral dose showed a peak around 3 to 5 hours and an elimination half-life of about 8.4 hours, with no meaningful change in resting heart rate or blood pressure at that dose. The authors noted that peak concentrations were 15 to 30 times lower than those reported in the adverse-event cases. The point is not that 25 mg is safe; it is that a twice-daily Jack3d habit stacked doses on top of drug that had not cleared.

3

The case reports: cardiac arrest and stroke in young, healthy users

Eliason and colleagues documented two US Army soldiers who collapsed from cardiac arrest during physical training and died, both having taken DMAA-containing supplements. Karnatovskaia and colleagues reported cardiac arrest in a 21-year-old man after a DMAA workout supplement. Cohen's review in Archives of Internal Medicine catalogued cerebral hemorrhage and other serious events. Case reports cannot prove causation, but the pattern of a vasoconstrictor stimulant, hard exercise, heat and stacked doses recurred across them.

4

The industry safety studies: real, small and short

USPlabs funded a series of studies through Bloomer's laboratory. Farney and colleagues had seven men take Jack3d and six people take OxyElite Pro daily for two weeks and reported no clinically significant changes in blood chemistry, while measuring acute rises in blood pressure after each dose. These studies were small, short, used rested subjects, and were designed to detect laboratory changes rather than rare catastrophic events. They are the reason DMAA advocates could cite "clinical research"; they are not evidence against the case reports, which involve events far too rare for a 13-person trial to see.

5

"Geranium extract" was a legal strategy, not a source

Under US law a dietary ingredient must be a food component or a botanical constituent. Jack3d's label called DMAA geranium extract, which would have made it a botanical. Lisi and colleagues analyzed geranium oils and found no methylhexaneamine; independent analyses of supplements found synthetic DMAA at pharmacological doses. Avula and colleagues later published a rapid analytical method specifically to detect DMAA in products. Once the botanical claim failed, DMAA was by definition a drug being sold as a supplement, which is what the FDA concluded in 2013.

PHARMACOKINETIC DATA

Jack3d Pre Workout and DMAA in Numbers

The chart shows the one measured pharmacokinetic fact that matters most for how Jack3d was used: DMAA clears slowly. The animated bars underneath show a different set of numbers, the regulatory timeline, as years from the product's peak to its legal end.

Jack3d pre workout DMAA half-life about 8.4 hours compared with caffeine about 5 hours

A different view: the regulatory timeline of Jack3d pre workout and DMAA, from peak sales to criminal conviction.

2010: WADA adds methylhexaneamine (DMAA) to the prohibited listyear 0
2011: two soldier deaths; military exchanges pull DMAA productsyear 1
2012: FDA warning letters to DMAA marketers including USPlabsyear 2
2013: FDA declares DMAA illegal; USPlabs destroys remaining stockyear 3
2015: federal indictment of USPlabs and its executivesyear 5
2019: guilty pleas to federal chargesyear 9

Nine years from first prohibition to conviction, during which the product was sold openly for at least three. That lag is why DMAA products still exist in gray-market channels and why the ingredient's aliases are worth memorizing.

TODAY

Jack3d Pre Workout After DMAA: What the Name Means Now and How to Check a Label

Products carrying the Jack3d pre workout name after 2013 were reformulated without DMAA. Whatever tub you are looking at, the question is not the brand but the ingredient list, because DMAA appears under a dozen names and gray-market "original formula" listings still exist.

Walk away if the label lists

1,3-dimethylamylamine, 1,3-DMAA, methylhexaneamine, methylhexanamine, 4-methyl-2-hexanamine or dimethylpentylamine.

"Geranium extract", "geranium oil", "Pelargonium graveolens extract" or "geranamine" in a stimulant blend; these were the DMAA aliases.

"Original formula", "OG", "pre-ban" or "2010 formula" in the product name or listing.

A proprietary blend that hides the caffeine dose; modern reputable pre-workouts disclose it.

What to buy instead

A pre-workout with a disclosed caffeine dose of 150 to 300 mg and no undisclosed stimulants.

Fully dosed actives where they matter: 3 g or more of citrulline, 3.2 g or more of beta-alanine if you want the buffering effect.

Or the individual ingredients: caffeine, creatine and beta-alanine bought separately cost less and dose better than any blend. See evidence-based supplements for the doses.

COMMON MISTAKES

4 Mistakes People Still Make About Jack3d Pre Workout

  • Remembering the feeling as proof the formula was good. Jack3d pre workout felt strong because DMAA is a drug-strength stimulant with a long half-life. The performance ingredients were under-dosed; the effect was pharmacological, not nutritional.
  • Treating the industry safety studies as clearance. Two-week trials in 13 rested adults can show that blood chemistry did not change. They cannot detect a stroke rate of one in tens of thousands during hard exercise in heat, which is what the case reports describe.
  • Buying "original formula" from resale sites. Product that has sat in a warehouse for a decade, from a company whose executives were convicted for what they put in it, is not a collector's item. It is an unverified stimulant of unknown potency.
  • Assuming a plant-sounding ingredient is safe. "Geranium extract" was a synthetic amine. The same trick recurs with other stimulants sold as botanical extracts; a name you cannot find in a pharmacology reference is a reason to look harder, not to relax.
FREQUENTLY ASKED

Jack3d Pre Workout: Common Questions Answered

Why was Jack3d pre workout banned?

Because it contained 1,3-dimethylamylamine (DMAA), a synthetic stimulant labeled as geranium extract. After case reports of cardiac arrest and stroke, including two soldier deaths, the US military pulled DMAA products, the FDA issued warning letters in 2012 and declared DMAA an illegal dietary ingredient in 2013. USPlabs, the maker, destroyed its inventory and its executives later pleaded guilty to federal charges.

What was in the original Jack3d formula?

A proprietary blend of about 4.2 g per serving containing creatine monohydrate, beta-alanine, arginine alpha-ketoglutarate, caffeine and DMAA, with no individual doses disclosed. The blend was too small to hold research doses of creatine or beta-alanine, so the felt effect came from DMAA and caffeine.

Is DMAA dangerous?

At doses used in supplements it raises blood pressure by up to about 20 percent when combined with caffeine, without raising heart rate, and it has a half-life of about 8.4 hours so repeated doses accumulate. It has been associated in published case reports with cardiac arrest and hemorrhagic stroke in young, healthy users, typically during hard exercise. The FDA considers it an illegal and unsafe dietary ingredient.

Does the current Jack3d contain DMAA?

Products sold under the Jack3d name after the 2013 FDA action were reformulated without DMAA. Any listing that advertises "original formula", "pre-ban" or lists geranium extract, methylhexaneamine or 1,3-DMAA is either gray-market old stock or counterfeit and should be avoided.

Is DMAA still legal anywhere?

It is prohibited in dietary supplements in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, the European Union, Australia and New Zealand, and it has been on the WADA prohibited list since 2010. It continues to appear in gray-market products, which is why the alias list in this article matters.

What is the closest legal alternative to Jack3d?

Nothing legal reproduces DMAA's pharmacology, and that is the point. For a strong but legal stimulant effect, look for a pre-workout with a disclosed 250 to 400 mg of caffeine and full doses of citrulline and beta-alanine; our reviews of C4 and Mother Bucker check current labels against the research doses.

REFERENCES

Sources & Further Reading

Every pharmacological and clinical claim above is tied to one of the following peer-reviewed sources; each PMID was verified against the PubMed record before publication. Regulatory events are drawn from FDA public statements and court records.

1
DMAA as a dietary supplement ingredient Verified
Cohen PA. Arch Intern Med. 2012. PMID 22566490
View on PubMed →
2
Case reports: Death of active duty soldiers following ingestion of dietary supplements containing 1,3-dimethylamylamine (DMAA) Verified
Eliason MJ et al. Mil Med. 2012. PMID 23397688
View on PubMed →
3
Cardiac arrest in a 21-year-old man after ingestion of 1,3-DMAA-containing workout supplement Verified
Karnatovskaia LV et al. Clin J Sport Med. 2015. PMID 24878759
View on PubMed →
4
Physiological and pharmacokinetic effects of oral 1,3-dimethylamylamine administration in men Verified
Schilling BK et al. BMC Pharmacol Toxicol. 2013. PMID 24090077
View on PubMed →
5
Effects of 1,3-dimethylamylamine and caffeine alone or in combination on heart rate and blood pressure in healthy men and women Verified
Bloomer RJ et al. Phys Sportsmed. 2011. PMID 22030947
View on PubMed →
6
Hemodynamic and hematologic profile of healthy adults ingesting dietary supplements containing 1,3-dimethylamylamine and caffeine Verified
Farney TM et al. Nutr Metab Insights. 2012. PMID 23882143
View on PubMed →
7
Studies of methylhexaneamine in supplements and geranium oil Verified
Lisi A et al. Drug Test Anal. 2011. PMID 22147493
View on PubMed →
8
Fast Identification of 1,3-Dimethylamylamine Using Direct Analysis in Real Time-QToF-MS Verified
Avula B et al. J AOAC Int. 2015. PMID 26086254
View on PubMed →
KEEP READING

More from the Supplements series

Current pre-workouts checked against their labels, and the framework behind every verdict.

DISCLAIMER

Final Educational Note

This article is for educational purposes and does not constitute medical or legal advice. It describes a product that is no longer legally sold in its original form and an ingredient that regulators in the United States and elsewhere consider unsafe. MuscleScience does not endorse the purchase or use of any DMAA-containing product.

MuscleScience has no commercial relationship with any supplement manufacturer. Anyone who has taken a DMAA-containing product and experiences chest pain, severe headache, confusion or collapse should seek emergency care. For the framework we apply to every product, see evidence-based supplements.

R
Ryan Hale
Research Notes Editor at MuscleScience. Covers supplements, peptides and evidence-based performance topics, translating clinical research into clear educational context for gym-focused readers. Reviews all supplement content for accuracy against the label and the primary literature before publication.
Reviews

Community Reviews

Tried this product? Rate it and share your experience. A valid email is required, kept private and never shown; reviews appear after moderation.

0
0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)
Excellent
Very good
Average
Poor
Terrible

What readers say

There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write one.